Meet the Family

Jim and his wife, Isabelle, have a daughter, Geneviève, and three sons: Daniel, Joseph, and Patrick.



I was born in Montréal but mostly grew up in Ottawa and Toronto. After high school I joined the Canadian Armed Forces and completed a degree in engineering physics at the Royal military College of Canada. After graduation I completed pilot training and completed tours on the CP – 140 Aurora conducting antisubmarine patrols in Greenwood, NS. After a tour instructing on the CT – 114 tutor, I resigned from the Air Force and began civilian flying. I have worldwide flying experience in all types of aircraft including the Boeing 747 jumbo jet. Before my injury I was a training captain on the Boeing 737 NG flying for WestJet. I have begun a new career as an ambassador for the Rick Hansen foundation and as a motivational speaker. I also seeks out new opportunities.


I was born in Montreal in 1964.  From ages 7 to 13 I lived in various parts of Africa and South America.  My family eventually settled back in Ottawa, Ontario and that is where I completed my high school diploma.  

  I graduated from Queen’s University in 1986 with a degree in physiotherapy.  I have actively worked in my profession for the past 30 years.  I have a passion for helping people reach the full potential of an active independent life.

Jim and I met in 1984 and married in 1987.  Together, our family grew to include 4 amazing children.

I love travelling, yoga, paddle boarding, hiking… basically anything that includes movement!



I was born in 1992, and am currently serving in the Air Force as a pilot. I live in Moose Jaw, SK, and am training on the CT-155 Hawk aircraft as a lead in jet trainer for the fighter program.

I have a passion for photography, and some examples of my work can be found here.

As well as managing this site,  I also write a blog about my experience as a pilot in training called Fledgling Flyer


I was born in 1989, and am currently completing the final year of my combined JD/MA program at the University of Toronto. I will receive both my Law degree and MA in Russian and European Studies in June, 2017.

After I graduate I will be training as an articled student at Long Mangalji LLP, an immigration and refugee law firm in Toronto. I expect to be called to the Bar of Ontario in 2018.

My other passions are for history, language and travel. I speak French and German, and have lived, worked, and studied in several countries, including Hungary, France, Poland and Switzerland.


Genevieve Headshot.jpg


I was born in 1994, and am currently in my final year of studies at the Royal Military College in Kingston, ON. 

I am enrolled in the Air Force to become a pilot and expect to commence flying training in Moose Jaw in the summer of 2017.


I was born in 1996, and am currently studying at the University of Victoria to get a degree in Computer Science.

I enjoy paddle boarding and hiking (basically anything outdoors!) in my free time.


Pat Headshot.jpg